History of Church of the Resurrection
Our parish began as a mission of the Episcopal Diocese of New York in 1886. The early church was on Church Street in Hopewell Junction in the building that is now Frankie's Superette. It was first used on Easter Day 1891 and was consecrated on July 27, 1891 by Bishop Potter who also signed the document by which Resurrection was officially organized as a mission of the Diocese of New York.
Fundraising for a larger church began in the late 1950's and early 1960's with a variety of events including sales of Lenten clam chowder and Election Day turkey dinners.
Ground breaking for Southern Dutchess County's newest Episcopal Church with its unique modern architecture took place in 1963, and the congregation moved to the current location on top of the hill in 1964.
In 1974, the Church of the Resurrection was incorporated as a parish with Fr. Bruce Bowes as the first Rector. A choir loft was built in 1981 to accommodate an organ and choir. The columbarium and cemetery were added in 1987.
In the spring of 1995, with great excitement and faith, our congregation embarked upon a successful capital campaign to raise money for a unique set of 12 stained glass windows. The "Resurrection Windows" were installed to the right of our altar by the end of the same year.
We continue today as a vibrant community of faith in southern Dutchess County. Won't you join us?